I've Decided to wait, will I be too old?

A forum for applicants and admitted students to ask law students and graduates about law school and the practice of law.
juriluv

I've Decided to wait, will I be too old?

Postby juriluv » Tue Nov 12, 2013 9:06 am

I have decided to wait two years before starting law school. I am currently already 3 years post UG and by the time I apply again I will be 5 years post graduation and 27 years old. I have decided to wait so that I can retest and raise my chances of a scholarship as well as so that I can save money. I am currently a teacher and I have a young son, and we really want to pay off some previous debt before jumping into law school. I guess my question is, will law school still want me?

Void

Re: I've Decided to wait, will I be too old?

Postby Void » Tue Nov 12, 2013 9:21 am

juriluv wrote:I have decided to wait two years before starting law school. I am currently already 3 years post UG and by the time I apply again I will be 5 years post graduation and 27 years old. I have decided to wait so that I can retest and raise my chances of a scholarship as well as so that I can save money. I am currently a teacher and I have a young son, and we really want to pay off some previous debt before jumping into law school. I guess my question is, will law school still want me?

I was 28 when I applied; nobody noticed/cared. The "old" people in law school are 45+. Also, there are lots and lots of threads about this already.

Hutz_and_Goodman

Postby Hutz_and_Goodman » Tue Nov 12, 2013 9:30 am

I'm a 2L in my 30s, have NYC big law SA. No one cares as long as you can fit in with other associates in a reasonable way.

JazzOne

Postby JazzOne » Tue Nov 12, 2013 9:40 am

I went to law school in my 30s, and I never felt like my age was a hindrance at all.

I was also a teacher for several years before law school, and I had a family to think about. There are a lot of threads on this topic, but you can PM me if you'd like.