Straight to law school or a year off? Forum

A forum for applicants and admitted students to ask law students and graduates about law school and the practice of law.
rau9288

New

Straight to law school or a year off?

Post by rau9288 » Thu Oct 03, 2013 1:21 pm

I'm currently a 4th year undergrad with ambitions of law school. As well as being a full time student I have two jobs that occupy about 50-55 hours a week. I have a 3.65 GPA and have yet to take the LSAT. My question is: Should I try to cram the LSAT in in December and get my applications ready why cramming work and school or is it okay to take the year off from school next year to focus on the LSAT and the application process?

I hate the idea of taking a year off of school, but I'm leaning toward the year off just to make sure I have put forth a 100% effort.

Thanks for everyone's input!

bizzybone1313

Silver

Re: Straight to law school or a year off?

Post by bizzybone1313 » Thu Oct 03, 2013 1:28 pm

You are probably not a special snowflake and will be able to crank out an elite LSAT score in two mnths and be back in skool in August. Whatever you do-- don't get a full time job when you graduate. Prep for June and apply next fall. Don't waste time going down another career path that you had no intention of going towards. You either knock the test of the park and attend an elite school or you bomb it and move on with your life and not become a victim of the law skool scam.

Duchess14

New

Post by Duchess14 » Thu Oct 03, 2013 1:52 pm

If I were in your shoes I would absolutely take time off-- focus on maximizing your LSAT score and put yourself in the position to get your apps in early / on time (can help your chances of admittance and can also affect scholarships offer).

Browse TLS-- there are a lot of circumstances in which it doesn’t make sense to go to law school. Make sure you are making an informed decision about if/where you go to law school by taking employment stats, debt, etc. into account.