Notre Dame and UMich Law Grads, how is your Alumni Network?

A forum for applicants and admitted students to ask law students and graduates about law school and the practice of law.
UMich11

Notre Dame and UMich Law Grads, how is your Alumni Network?

Postby UMich11 » Wed Jul 17, 2013 1:34 pm

I have been accepted to both. One deferred, the other starting this fall. I understand the rankings and employment stats, but i'm still torn. I am a UMich UG student and i already have seen the UMich network and how it works - i like it a lot. At the same time my family is ND/ND law, and i see how that works - i also like that a lot.

What are your thoughts, have you made a lot of important connections as a grad from your school? If you had to go back, would you have picked something different?

Did your prospective employer give you more weight because of where you went (outside OCI) or did you get a job because of a alumni connection?

I'd like to work in the midwest - Chicago/Michigan area. But i would not be opposed to East/West/South. I am also not dead set on practicing law, right now i'm in consulting/investment banking - law school is more a thing i want to do, and yes i'm aware of the costs.

All thoughts are appreciated.

NanaP

Re: Notre Dame and UMich Law Grads, how is your Alumni Network?

Postby NanaP » Wed Jul 17, 2013 1:43 pm

UMich11 wrote:I have been accepted to both. One deferred, the other starting this fall. I understand the rankings and employment stats, but i'm still torn. I am a UMich UG student and i already have seen the UMich network and how it works - i like it a lot. At the same time my family is ND/ND law, and i see how that works - i also like that a lot.

What are your thoughts, have you made a lot of important connections as a grad from your school? If you had to go back, would you have picked something different?