how many incoming 1Ls are leaving the nest?

A forum for applicants and admitted students to ask law students and graduates about law school and the practice of law.

What percentage of the incoming 1L class came in previously financially independent?

0-25%
25%
25%-50%
36%
50%-75%
25%
75%-100%
14%

Total votes: 28

Wearthewildthingsr

how many incoming 1Ls are leaving the nest?

Postby Wearthewildthingsr » Wed Jul 03, 2013 2:54 am

Let's be honest here.

I'm one of those kids TLS hates. mommy and daddy has sheltered me from market forces in college and since I graduated. Call me what you want. Dumb, callow, unmotivated, etc. etc.

Now I'm led to believe that many people here and coming into law school will be these amazingly accomplished people who have had years of work experience and financial independence and thus maturity. I just want to know, out of curiosity, what portion of the incoming class of 1Ls are truly financially independent from familial support. Just curious.

Ludo!

Re: how many incoming 1Ls are leaving the nest?

Postby Ludo! » Wed Jul 03, 2013 3:01 am

Your parents paid your bills while you were in college?

Wearthewildthingsr

Postby Wearthewildthingsr » Wed Jul 03, 2013 3:03 am

Ludovico Technique wrote:Your parents paid your bills while you were in college?

yup. go ahead. excoriate me. I am nothing more than a sponge in the eyes of tls. no... probably less actually.

Ludo!

Postby Ludo! » Wed Jul 03, 2013 3:04 am

Nah that's cool. I'm jelly

bizzybone1313

Postby bizzybone1313 » Wed Jul 03, 2013 3:04 am

I will never understand why people here put years of WE as being a good thing. Working before returning to law school was the biggest mistake I have ever made.

Ludo!

Postby Ludo! » Wed Jul 03, 2013 3:06 am

bizzybone1313 wrote:I will never understand why people here put years of WE as being a good thing. Working before returning to law school was the biggest mistake I have ever made.

Why?

Tom Joad