Civil Litigation vs. Criminal Litigation

A forum for applicants and admitted students to ask law students and graduates about law school and the practice of law.
Kafkaesquire

Civil Litigation vs. Criminal Litigation

Postby Kafkaesquire » Fri Jun 28, 2013 2:51 am

Many of these threads are opinion-based, anyway.

I have an engineering degree, but I still haven't decided if civil litigation is the route for me. Why I think criminal litigation would be way more exciting may be an error in judgement on my part, so I wanted to open up a thread to juxtapose the two openly.

Oh, yeah. I guess I could do transactional work. Then again, I would want to make a living. (I'm just kidding.)

Scotusnerd

Re: Civil Litigation vs. Criminal Litigation

Postby Scotusnerd » Fri Jun 28, 2013 7:38 am

Kafkaesquire wrote:Many of these threads are opinion-based, anyway.

I have an engineering degree, but I still haven't decided if civil litigation is the route for me. Why I think criminal litigation would be way more exciting may be an error in judgement on my part, so I wanted to open up a thread to juxtapose the two openly.

Oh, yeah. I guess I could do transactional work. Then again, I would want to make a living. (I'm just kidding.)

You have zero way of knowing which appeals to you right now. You probably won't have a clue until your 1L summer. Don't stress too much about it.

Also, what exactly is your question?

Kafkaesquire

Postby Kafkaesquire » Fri Jun 28, 2013 9:18 am

Which would you choose, and why?

Bronte

Postby Bronte » Fri Jun 28, 2013 9:34 am

I'm having trouble explaining why this question doesn't really make sense. You don't decide you want to do litigation and then say, "huh, now should I do civil or criminal"? Criminal law is essentially a specialty practice area and is very insular. For the most part, you have to be all in.