0L legal internship questions/advice Forum

A forum for applicants and admitted students to ask law students and graduates about law school and the practice of law.
thereelfeels

New

0L legal internship questions/advice

Post by thereelfeels » Mon Jun 03, 2013 11:00 pm

I was successfully accepted as a 0L into a program for law students in one of my home state's large legal agencies, and as such was placed into one of the many state agencies covered under that umbrella. There are probably ~60-70 interns in the program, but only two or three 0L's. I began work shortly after graduation, and one other (2L) intern started more recently. There are other current student interns, but they are working under different attorneys in the office. Currently, my tasks have been anything from filing work and routine proofreading to researching and writing counter-statements of facts, relevant facts and arguments for both state and appellate cases - something I've never done before, but am figuring it out as I go along. I'm really enjoying the work so far, and feel as though I'm actually gaining some substantive experience and seeing how the law is applied.

With this program, there are a good bit of special events hosted with the large group of other current law students, coming from schools anywhere from T14 to TTTT. At our welcoming breakfast event, it was a bit embarrassing to introduce myself as a 0L, considering I am and will be one of the only ones in the program. Are there any tips for overcoming the "wall" between 0L and current students, where I can really take advantage of the different networking and meet-and-greet opportunities that this program provides?