Mind sharing experiences on the "success guides"?

A forum for applicants and admitted students to ask law students and graduates about law school and the practice of law.
lhanvt13

Mind sharing experiences on the "success guides"?

Postby lhanvt13 » Sun May 05, 2013 8:33 pm

So, just wondering if anybody followed the general outline of any TLS guide (such as Arrow's, Talon's, etc) or a combination of them and if they wanted to share their success/failure stories as well. Just curious as to how it all worked out since a lot of the guides have been out for a little while now. :wink: :?:

shock259

Re: Mind sharing experiences on the "success guides"?

Postby shock259 » Mon May 06, 2013 12:19 pm

I read them all before starting. I made my own "plan" of sorts based on a bunch of them (picking and choosing). It worked very well and I ended up in the top of the class. But I studied my ass off and didn't have much of a life. Was it necessary? Probably not. The study specifics are a lot less important than learning to take an exam. But it was definitely worth it.

The guides have a lot of good info. But as with all things, take it with a grain of salt. Take the good stuff and leave the rest. And figure out what works for you.

beepboopbeep

Postby beepboopbeep » Mon May 06, 2013 12:26 pm

shock259 wrote:The study specifics are a lot less important than learning to take an exam.

This is something I keep hearing, but it's never in the guides (at least, any of the few I've looked at). Are there any good resources about this, aside from Getting To Maybe?

Seems to me that if one were determined to gun hard during 0L summer (I personally plan on drinking and reading trashy scifi for most of it, but I at least want to know what I should feel guilty about not doing), getting a head start on figuring out exams would be the most productive way to do that. Agree/disagree?

Bronck

Postby Bronck » Mon May 06, 2013 12:32 pm

beepboopbeep wrote: