Are There Ethnic/Racial Niches for Small Law?

A forum for applicants and admitted students to ask law students and graduates about law school and the practice of law.
jtabustos

Are There Ethnic/Racial Niches for Small Law?

Postby jtabustos » Tue Apr 30, 2013 10:15 pm

I've been very curious about this. I know that in many cases small law requires strong business skills - sometimes more so than lawyering skills from what people say here - and that you need to be able to attract and maintain a client base in order to have continued business.

One thing about my background is that I am part Asian Pacific Islander American (what a mouthful!) and am curious if there are models for small law legal success that rely on ethnic/racial niches. It's not so much that I would want to exclude non-APIA's in my clientele base (if I were to actually go small law), but instead I'm trying to think of it as a strategic market.

I know in CA I have seen one commercial/ad for a Chinatown area immigration lawyer. I can't remember her name, but I've seen the woman in commercials a few times. But I'm not sure how successful she is. And I wonder if that type of marketing ultimately limits or pigeonholes you too much for future expansion?

nickb285

Re: Are There Ethnic/Racial Niches for Small Law?

Postby nickb285 » Tue Apr 30, 2013 10:58 pm

I think the biggest area where it will help you is immigration--kinda obvious, but still. I would suspect you might also get a boost if you're doing things like family law (people tend to trust those who look like them when it comes to personal matters). Outside of those, though, I'd suspect that your biggest racial/ethnic boosts are going to come from networking opportunities (whether through student organizations or community stuff or whatever).

That said, I'm a honky 0L so I could be talking out of my ass.

bizzybone1313

Postby bizzybone1313 » Tue Apr 30, 2013 11:10 pm