My Prospects by 2017?

A forum for applicants and admitted students to ask law students and graduates about law school and the practice of law.
AJFAJF

My Prospects by 2017?

Postby AJFAJF » Fri Apr 26, 2013 9:53 am

Hello everyone. I am considering applying for Law School for Fall 2014. I have about a year left of UG. Currently have a 3.7 and I'm studying for the LSAT. (Paralegal Studies Major) I will say that I have been consistently discouraged in this choice of career path because of the high debt and poor job prospects/low job satisfaction. I have enjoyed my time in UG doing Paralegal Studies. I have flirted with the idea of changing majors and doing Finance just for the job security but I am terrible at Math. (Got a 70 percent in Basic Algebra) <- Finance probably not going to work lol.

So the I beg the question, by 2017 how do you think the market will be looking? BTW I've considered scrapping the entire idea and just becoming a Real Estate Agent... No debt, relatively low stress, showing houses and being your own boss. But then I've heard that business is too feast or famine and extremely hard to get off the ground running.

I live in the Philadelphia region for what it's worth. Any thoughts on all of this?

Tim0thy222

Re: My Prospects by 2017?

Postby Tim0thy222 » Fri Apr 26, 2013 10:18 am

http://begthequestion.info/

Also, I didn't realize you could get a 4 year degree in paralegal studies. Have you thought about being a paralegal for a couple years to get an idea of what a law firm is like and if law is right for you?

It seems like you are dealing with 2 different questions here. One is whether or not you want to be a lawyer, and the other is whether or not it's a safe path. Am I reading that right?

AJFAJF

Postby AJFAJF » Fri Apr 26, 2013 10:28 am