Do I have a chance of ever going to law school?

A forum for applicants and admitted students to ask law students and graduates about law school and the practice of law.
lawschoolwondering

Do I have a chance of ever going to law school?

Postby lawschoolwondering » Mon Apr 15, 2013 11:34 am

I graduated from high school in 2003. I started off as a nursing major and the first couple of years I had relatively good grades. In 2005, both my parents became ill and I had to care for them, and I was diagnosed with coronary artery disease. This is now 2013, and I am a college senior, and my transcript gpa is 2.60, but the absolute law school gpa is 2.15 at this point. I took the LSAT in February and received a score of 168. I recently changed my major to BS in Health Services Administration. I met with an advisor today and she said that I could graduate with my degree August 2014, which leaves me with 70 credit hours left to take. I told her I was doing better from my disease and my parents were better and the next 4-5 semesters I was confident I could get A's.

She said and I quote, "I am a grad student so I am not really familiar with law school, but I doubt it will ever work out because you have failed courses (which you retook) and have a lot of course withdrawals which i understand wont be punitive" but when you apply to grad school, if you have even 3-4 W's, they wont even consider your application. She told me I didnt have any change of grad school in any department.

My overall accum is 2.60, the gpa law school would compute right now would be 2.15 and my LSAT is 168. I do have 70 more credit hours until August '14, which could bring my absolute gpa up to 2.5 or 2.6.

My advisor said it doesnt matter how good or improved my numbers (LSAT and gpa are) when I apply Fall 2014, that they wont consider me with a transcript with W's and retakes.

Do I have a chance at all OR is it hopeless?

mephistopheles

Re: Do I have a chance of ever going to law school?