Doing a JD with a second Bachelor's in CS? Forum

A forum for applicants and admitted students to ask law students and graduates about law school and the practice of law.
beepboopbeep

Gold

Doing a JD with a second Bachelor's in CS?

Post by beepboopbeep » Thu Mar 28, 2013 1:36 pm

Hi all,

I'm a 0L attending in the fall, and looking to go into tech IP work. The problem is, I've heard they strongly favor candidates with hard sciences backgrounds, and I graduated with a literature degree. I've been teaching myself languages (mostly python & java... started rails as well) over the past couple years, mostly for fun, and have a strong knowledge of html/css from days long past as a graphic designer. So I have some competency, but nothing credited by an institution, and certainly not enough where I'd feel comfortable applying to a dual MS/JD program. Not to mention nothing in the way of theoretical knowledge.

Has anyone done anything like a second Bachelor's in another subject while doing your JD? I've heard of one person who had a friend who pulled off something like this, but they never got back to me when I asked for advice, and it seems impossible looking at credit requirements. Not to mention I'd presumably have to pay more for the degree.

I realize at some point I'll need to ask individual schools about my plans, but I wanted to throw this out in case anyone had some experience. Thanks!

dietcoke0

Silver

Re: Doing a JD with a second Bachelor's in CS?

Post by dietcoke0 » Thu Mar 28, 2013 11:53 pm

If you really wanted to do this (very little reason except if you ABSOLUTELY had to do IP) then just take the two years and get your BS before Law School.

The money-cost benefit of this is extremely low. It will marginally increase your chance for a job, but at the expense of 2 more years of debt, 2 less years in the work force, plus interest.