Debt and C&F Forum

A forum for applicants and admitted students to ask law students and graduates about law school and the practice of law.
rawlsohard

New

Debt and C&F

Post by rawlsohard » Fri Mar 22, 2013 3:25 pm

This is very unsettling. I had no idea that C&F could not admit you for excessive debt.

This story concerns me. As I understand it, part of the decision was that he continued to take a part-time job in lieu of full time employment.

I work part-time right now as a tutor, in part because I'm studying for the LSAT, in part because I'm studying for personal trainer certification and in part because full-time jobs would make doing both very difficult. I get about $100-150/week. The worst was 9 months ago, when I had to pay back 3 months in loans because a loan servicer had contacted me entirely via snail mail and not email and so I didn't realize the servicer existed at all.

Having read about people who passed C&F with DUIs and other things, I doubt C&F would care about this. It seems like in the cases they've assessed, the person has been delinquent for 9 months in a row or something ridiculous. Occasionally I am delinquent on student payments by about 10 days, but some months I'll pay 2 months of payments in advance. But that's because I had no idea C&F even took into account debt payments at all, so in the future I'll be more diligent about it. Until now I haven't had a reason to care.

However, the part about "a plan to pay back the loans" worries me. Most people seem to have no more of a "plan" than I do -- of my 300 or so facebook friends, the only person who was even remotely familiar with LS employment stats was a person who tutors the LSAT for income. The rest think LS *at all* is a great career opportunity, no matter what institution. The types who research careers to the degree that people on TLS do are rare.