Differences with patent law

A forum for applicants and admitted students to ask law students and graduates about law school and the practice of law.
untar614

Differences with patent law

Postby untar614 » Thu Mar 14, 2013 3:54 pm

Hey I was wondering about some potential key differences that going into patent law may have from other fields.

- I have a degree in bio and plan to study to hopefully pass the patent bar before school. However, I've heard some chatter about they way things are going now, if its not engineering/compsci, you need an advanced degree inthe science. Is there any validity to this? I mean, I could see and advanced degree being advantageous, but will the lack of one be a serious concern?

- Does having the patent bar/going into that make the whole connections to an area less of an issue?

- Is it somewhat easier to get well-paying positions if you have the patent thing going on coming from a school thats just outside the T14 or lower T14 than it would be otherwise?

- I saw someone once mention something about patent/IP partner/associate as being something distinct from a regular partner/associate at some firms. What are the differences here?

Thanks for any answers you may be able to provide.

swoozie

Re: Differences with patent law

Postby swoozie » Thu Mar 14, 2013 8:25 pm

- I have a degree in bio and plan to study to hopefully pass the patent bar before school. However, I've heard some chatter about they way things are going now, if its not engineering/compsci, you need an advanced degree inthe science. Is there any validity to this? I mean, I could see and advanced degree being advantageous, but will the lack of one be a serious concern?