Rock v. Hard Place

A forum for applicants and admitted students to ask law students and graduates about law school and the practice of law.
UntraditionalMainer

Rock v. Hard Place

Postby UntraditionalMainer » Mon Mar 11, 2013 5:38 pm

I am looking for some advice from either a current student or a recent grad.

First, a short bio about me:

I am a non-traditional student, that is, I am 28 and just finishing my UG in Business at a local part-campus/part-online school with a 3.94. My soon-to-be wife and I live about ten minutes from Maine Law. I work full-time (45 hrs over 4 days) in IT and am out of my mind hating it. She is a retail pharmacist doing quite well (this factors in later-I'm not just being a dick). I have applied to four schools: NESL (accepted today), Suffolk, Northeastern, and Maine, of course. We are getting married in three months, and plan to start our family shortly after the Class of 2016 graduates. Relocation is a non-starter. Yes, I realize three of those schools are in Boston. I would be commuting (yes, that’s completely fucking absurd to commute 2.5 hours each way for a TTT. Leave that alone and consider what facts I’m providing you), hence why Maine Law would be my first choice, even at sticker.

Now that you have a few facts about me, here is the narrative/dilemma: