Do I have any hope with this gpa and LSAT

A forum for applicants and admitted students to ask law students and graduates about law school and the practice of law.
vickiherman

Do I have any hope with this gpa and LSAT

Postby vickiherman » Sat Mar 02, 2013 6:11 pm

Alright, where to begin. When I graduated high school, I wanted at first to pursue nursing. Like most rigorous programs, before you can begin the sophomore sequence you have to apply and have a certain gpa and science gpa. I retook the sciences over and over, and after 3 years I changed my major and decided 2 years ago on law school. I have studied hard ever since I began college, however, I have horrible test anxiety, and I have gotten over it a couple semesters ago. I wish I knew then that I wanted to practice law or I would've withdrawn from those pre-nursing courses. My gpa at my school is 3.2, however, when LSAC gets done, my LSAC gpa will be 2.25. Awful I know.

I have studied for 13 months for the LSAT and am now scoring in the 167-169 range. I plan on taking the June test.

Lets suppose, I take the LSAT in June and score 169 and then take my 2.25 gpa. Given the fact that applicants are down 20 percent, and that I will address my test anxiety, and also I have a 2 semester 4.0 trend. Would I have even a morsel of a chance of getting into a school 49 or better?

My goal is to eventually work in NY, and would love to transfer, but am not getting my hopes up it can work out, but if I would get into a 49 or above school and by chance I place 10-20 percent, I could still possibly move up and I would make sure the school is one I would be happy graduating from not expecting to transfer.