Mindless job.. Preparing my brain for law school/thinking? Forum

A forum for applicants and admitted students to ask law students and graduates about law school and the practice of law.
AlanShore

Silver

Mindless job.. Preparing my brain for law school/thinking?

Post by AlanShore » Sat Jan 26, 2013 10:14 am

So I hate my job. My company is pretty dysfunctional and my job is not demanding at all nd requires little to no effort. Ive been working here for per two years and I am pretty concerned that my thinking, discipline, focus, attention span, etc muscles have atrophied since college.

I recently talked to an ex coworker who left to work for a consulting firm. She acknowledged that the first two or three months of work for her were really tough for her because she wasn't used to focusing and being challenged all day. She's doing great now of course but I won't have a month or two to get used to law school!

Im very concerned that my brain won't be in tip top shape come day one of law school. What can I do between now and August to get myself more ready? I have a lot of free time at my job. Should I read something like the economist for three hour blocks or something? I play strategy board games for fun.. I'm not really talking about OL prep... Jut ways to get my brain ready for the mental skills I'll need to start school again, specifically school that requires hours of reading.

Any tips?

magp90

Bronze

Re: Mindless job.. Preparing my brain for law school/thinking?

Post by magp90 » Sun Jan 27, 2013 10:55 pm

I feel a little bit the same way. I work in a law firm as a paralegal, so my days can range from pretty boring to busy. I went to a very intensive college, and I know law school will be the same (and probably worse). While I'm incredibly happy that I got to work with lawyers during my gap year, I'm nervous that I've got the momentum that I had while I was in college and that I'll be rusty by the time I go back to school.