freaking out. abysmal grades. Should I dropout. Forum

A forum for applicants and admitted students to ask law students and graduates about law school and the practice of law.
omgomg

New

freaking out. abysmal grades. Should I dropout.

Post by omgomg » Mon Jan 07, 2013 9:20 pm

I am at lower top-14 school and I think I should dropout.

I went to law school because I did well on the LSAT and I got into a top school for free. I studied hard. I know there may have been an issue with quality but I studied about 8 hours a day, everyday, outside of school. I have no idea what happened. I don't know if I am just missing some basic skills that will allow me to do well. I got above a 175 on the LSAT and I thought I did well in my classes.

I have debt from undergrad and I am having to pay for cost-of-living while in law school.

Maybe I should just get a job and continue school. I don't know.

Long story short, I don't want more debt with poor job prospects. I think I am around the 40th percentile GPA wise. I am a URM with some non-legal work experience.

Please let me know what you guys think.

stillwater

Gold

Re: freaking out. abysmal grades. Should I dropout.

Post by stillwater » Mon Jan 07, 2013 9:22 pm

uhhhhh how did you actually do?

EDIT: okay, i get it now. where do you go to school? you still have a semester to vault above median.

ph14

Gold

Post by ph14 » Mon Jan 07, 2013 9:24 pm

stillwater wrote:uhhhhh how did you actually do?
omgomg wrote:I think I am around the 40th percentile GPA wise.
To OP: Your grades aren't that bad, just a bit below median. You can certainly bring that up to median or even significantly higher with a strong second semester. Read some model exam answers and compare them to yours. Also, you're on a full scholarship, so even if you have some debt from undergrad (how much exactly?) and have to pay cost of living, you probably should at least finish out the year and see how OCI goes.

omgomg

New