What should a 0L with little money but extra time do?

A forum for applicants and admitted students to ask law students and graduates about law school and the practice of law.
scretcher

What should a 0L with little money but extra time do?

Postby scretcher » Fri Dec 28, 2012 8:49 pm

Applications are done, and I have a lot more free time than I am used to having. So the question follows, what should I do?

With my mind still in law school mode, the first answer that comes to mind is to get ready for law school. In undergrad, I majored in Psychology and Criminology, which you probably all know are not recommended majors for future law students (however, realize that Criminology is, in an educational approach, more similar to Sociology than Criminal Justice). While I do credit Criminology with motivating me to go to law school, it has left me in the cold when it comes to having anything more than a layman's understanding of economics, tax, and business. If a spend the next few months reading and researching, I feel my future grades will feel a [slight] bump.

Another side of me says I should do something for myself, whether that be brush up on my Spanish skills, learn an instrument, or read whatever the hell I want (A Song of Ice and Fire anyone?).

While I know the decision is ultimately up to me, your input would be helpful and welcome! If you think I'd be better off learning about economics, tax, business, etc., please follow with a few suggestions (what to focus on, what to read, etc.)

Cheers!

Lacepiece23

Re: What should a 0L with little money but extra time do?

Postby Lacepiece23 » Fri Dec 28, 2012 10:38 pm

scretcher wrote:Applications are done, and I have a lot more free time than I am used to having. So the question follows, what should I do?