Paralegal before law school, class of 2016? Forum

A forum for applicants and admitted students to ask law students and graduates about law school and the practice of law.
Anonymous User

Paralegal before law school, class of 2016?

Post by Anonymous User » Sun Dec 09, 2012 11:37 am

Obviously I'd only be there for 6-7 months, but I have no legal experience and want to be 100% sure I want this before I go to law school.

Haven't seen a lot about this on TLS, but would paralegal-ing pre-LS be a good idea? I'm currently in a shit minimum wage job in the service industry and am fairly miserable. I'm a college graduate from a very good school (T15/30) but not a ton of work experience outside of service industry. Which I hate and want out of ASAP.

Any other job options besides paralegal for pre-law school experience? I suppose I could volunteer. My current job is full-time, 40+ hours a week.

dextermorgan

Silver

Re: Paralegal before law school, class of 2016?

Post by dextermorgan » Sun Dec 09, 2012 11:51 am

A. Wrong forum
B. There is a ton of shit about 0L paralegals on TLS
C. The reason for B is because a ton of people do it
D. It will expose you to law, but will not give you any kind of boost for hiring purposes when you are in law school

To sum up, go be a paralegal if you want to get exposed to law. It's probably a better job than the service industry shit you are doing now, but don't expect it to be a unique experience when you get to law school.

roguey

Bronze

Post by roguey » Sun Dec 09, 2012 12:11 pm