Environmental Policy Making Career Forum

A forum for applicants and admitted students to ask law students and graduates about law school and the practice of law.
Kurry Kid

New

Environmental Policy Making Career

Post by Kurry Kid » Fri Dec 07, 2012 1:26 am

Hi, guys. I'm not sure if this is the right place to post, but here goes. I'm currently a junior in undergrad, working towards a degree in economics. I am taking an economics course in which we learn to evaluate the costs and benefits of various policies (mostly environmental) and I spoke with my professor about my interest in the course as well as my desire to go to law school. He said that even though there is an oversupply of environmental lawyers, my economics background should put me at an advantage. My question is should I just get a JD after undergrad or should I get additional degrees? For example, would a Masters in Econ be optimal, or would my bachelor's degree suffice?

Also, do environmental lawyers only present policies or can they analyze/make them as well? I'd like to make, analyze, and present environmental policies. If so, who hires such environmental lawyers?

Thanks, the help is appreciated. :D

joedf

Bronze

Re: Environmental Policy Making Career

Post by joedf » Fri Dec 07, 2012 1:40 am

I'm going to go out on a limb and say this will be extremely hard, especially with... policy-making. You already have what's very much a niche field, and it's a field that's very much trending, more or less, in a risk-averse profession.

Do your best to get into the best school you can, and the journey starts there. Don't shoot for this on a whim.