Increasing Your Chances

A forum for applicants and admitted students to ask law students and graduates about law school and the practice of law.
Jake_Coulter

Increasing Your Chances

Postby Jake_Coulter » Thu Dec 06, 2012 2:18 pm

Long story short, I'm an undergraduate at the University of Georgia trying to find an internship or volunteer program at a law firm. Did you (the current law students) have anything like this before you applied to law schools? If so, what did you do? If not, what did you do to increase your chances other than have a killer GPA and LSAT?

ALSO what are some other ways to increase my chances of getting in T-14 school other than GPA and LSAT?

Thanks!
-Jake

rad lulz

Re: Increasing Your Chances

Postby rad lulz » Thu Dec 06, 2012 2:27 pm

It won't increase your chances in a measurable way.

Jake_Coulter

Postby Jake_Coulter » Thu Dec 06, 2012 2:35 pm

rad lulz wrote:It won't increase your chances in a measurable way.

Well I havent really done anything else to improve my chances. All I have is a descent GPA and hopefully a good LSAT. Did you do anything else? Any clubs, groups, organizations..etc?

francesfarmer

Postby francesfarmer » Thu Dec 06, 2012 2:51 pm

Jake_Coulter wrote:

Well I havent really done anything else to improve my chances. All I have is a descent GPA and hopefully a good LSAT. Did you do anything else? Any clubs, groups, organizations..etc?

Clubs and stuff don't really matter. Work experience looks good, and also makes you seem like a more mature applicant. But it will never make up for what is lacking in your GPA and LSAT.

Edit: you could join the military. That would help you TONS.

Jake_Coulter

Postby Jake_Coulter » Thu Dec 06, 2012 2:56 pm

francesfarmer wrote:
Jake_Coulter wrote:

Clubs and stuff don't really matter. Work experience looks good, and also makes you seem like a more mature applicant. But it will never make up for what is lacking in your GPA and LSAT.