4 years off after UG, starting law school at age 26-28 Forum

A forum for applicants and admitted students to ask law students and graduates about law school and the practice of law.
JDeezy

Bronze

4 years off after UG, starting law school at age 26-28

Post by JDeezy » Sun Nov 25, 2012 3:19 pm

Have my LSAT done, have already taken two years off before applying, thinking about applying in Fall 2014 to start Fall 2015. I am a 2011 college grad.

I'm sure this has been covered ad nauseum and obviously its a personal decision, but one of the factors for me will be whether a) I'll be out of place at law school or b) too old for firms at OCI. I'd like law school to be a "social" experience and learn from those who I meet as well as from my classes.

I know that there are plenty of late 20s at law schools, but I'm wondering from those with experience to answer a) and b) above.

Many thanks.

In case it is relevant I'll most likely land at a lower T14.

Doorkeeper

Gold

Re: 4 years off after UG, starting law school at age 26-28

Post by Doorkeeper » Sun Nov 25, 2012 3:23 pm

1) The people who go to law school are normally between 0-4 years out of undergraduate. You'll fit in fine. This being said, you'll be on the older end of the spectrum, but I really don't think you'll have too much of a problem interacting with those who have been out of school 1-2 years vs. 4 years. Those just out of college are a whole different issue, but I wouldn't be concerned.

2) Firms will have no problem recruiting someone who is 22 vs. 26. In fact, many firms now prefer to have associates who have work experience prior to starting at the firm. I don't think being a 27 SA will be a problem at all (so long as you don't have issues taking work from someone that's around your age). If you were like 35, then maybe this might be a valid concern.

If you're targeting the bottom T14 and want biglaw, Northwestern might be a place to look into more carefully.

DougieFresh

New