Planning for a Part-Time (Evening Program) ,pls suggest Forum

A forum for applicants and admitted students to ask law students and graduates about law school and the practice of law.
eng_law

New

Planning for a Part-Time (Evening Program) ,pls suggest

Post by eng_law » Wed Sep 26, 2012 9:54 pm

Hi All,
I need your valuable suggestions and help me in decision making.
My back ground: I graduated in Mechanical engineering in a tier 1 (top 10) university in 2001 from my home country. But I have been working in software industry since 2001 till date.I worked with companies like siemens and microsoft. After staying in US for last 6 years ,am a permanent resident now. I have a fascination for law and wanted to go for it. I currently work in healthcare IT (pays decent 110k and with stock options).Wife is a physician.I do not intend to leave my full-time job.I want to pursue part-time(4years).Interested in Healthcare law(can cover wife profession),criminal law,financial mergers and IP law.
1.Is it worth now to pursue law (am in early 30's ,targeting for July 2013)?
Manager(s) and colleagues consider me having excellent analytical , diagnostics skills ,programming skills and leadership qualities. I am confident with effort ,I use better these skills in my law school and profession. But professional success is law depends on many other factors.Anyone having such expeience, pls guide me.
2.With software background for over a decade, is IP best suited, or having hardware electrical/electronics knowledge needed?
3.How dangerous being in criminal law? Someone like me whose profession is 'Soft' ware :), can handle a different world like criminal law?
4.I am planning for UConn as it has part-time program and reasonable fee (for instate) is worth proper prospects latter.
Please share your career transition experience.Betterand best suggestions are always welcome.

aca0260

Bronze

Re: Planning for a Part-Time (Evening Program) ,pls suggest