Interested in Law and PR

A forum for applicants and admitted students to ask law students and graduates about law school and the practice of law.
LWadeNagel

Interested in Law and PR

Postby LWadeNagel » Thu Sep 20, 2012 8:53 pm

Here is my basic situation...

I am an undergrad student at a top 15 public school in Communication. I plan to double major in Psychology. I am extremely interested in both PR and Law.

I love PR because of the creativity, persuasion, networking, and influence of the work...I am extremely interested in law because of the research, logic, general intellectual rigor, and future choices inherent.

I want money, too; I won't lie. I know all about the misleading law school employment stats, but where I am now I would be competitive for at least Stanford, Harvard, Chicago, and Columbia law schools.

I am also extremely interested in politics/government, but could see myself going into private sector.

Any ideas for my situation; ways to combine these fields? I suppose the obvious answer is lobbying; is that correct?

Swimp

Re: Interested in Law and PR

Postby Swimp » Thu Sep 20, 2012 8:59 pm

Sounds like you want to be a lobbyist.

Edit: Nevermind, I didn't read the last sentence haha. Yes, you are correct.

Lacepiece23

Postby Lacepiece23 » Fri Sep 21, 2012 2:17 am

where are these threads as of late coming from

sunynp

Postby sunynp » Fri Sep 21, 2012 2:53 am

The only reason to go to law school is if you want to practice law. If you want to be a lobbyist, you don't need to waste 3 years and a couple of hundred thousand dollars on law school.

Going to law school to get rich is also a fallacy. Most lawyers aren't getting rich. If you want money do something else that has a better chance of success.

If you think you might want to actually practice law, get a job in a firm or something and see how if you would enjoy being a lawyer.

EvilClinton

Postby EvilClinton » Fri Sep 21, 2012 3:13 am