What actions should I take as an undergrad?

A forum for applicants and admitted students to ask law students and graduates about law school and the practice of law.
2nd.derivative

What actions should I take as an undergrad?

Postby 2nd.derivative » Mon Jul 23, 2012 3:50 pm

I've been seriously interested in law school for the past few years, and want to maximize my chances at getting in to a good law school. This year will be my freshman year of college at what I'd consider a mediocre state university, and I'm majoring in engineering (I know it's not ideal, but hey, I want to do IP/patent law.) Since hindsight is 20/20, I'm asking you guys for commentary on my plans, and for any other advice you wish to give me.
Here's my current situation for you to appraise:

Networking:
I've joined Linkedin
I'll be in the political science club, among other groups

Extracurriculars:
I'll be on an intercollegiate (but not NCAA) team. Should I drop this to save time?
I'm going to try to assist a local high school's JROTC program.

Academics:
I'm in the honors English/History program. I'm not sure if that's a good thing or not. I think I can get A's, but I know it's going to be more work.
I got Kaplan's LSAT book a few years ago. It seems like I can improve most on the games section. I understand formal logic, and I can usually get the diagrams set up, its just that I'll usually make a few errors in execution.

General study habits:
I'm assuming that the old "4 hours studying for each hour in class" is a good standard to go by, is that true?
If so, this is where I could use advice the most. My current plan is to devote time from 7am to 8pm to class and studying. After accounting for time spent in class, transition, and lunch, this will give me the 4:1 ratio, without having to study on Sunday. If I become involved with clubs etc, I'll start studying an hour earlier. Assuming I have the discipline to do this, are there any serious flaws with this plan?