IPSecure?

A forum for applicants and admitted students to ask law students and graduates about law school and the practice of law.
zinc

IPSecure?

Postby zinc » Fri Jun 08, 2012 5:07 pm

Hello,

I am a 0L getting ready to attend a T1 school this fall. I have a chemistry PhD, and want to pursue IP law (patent prosecution). Several attorneys have told me that there are lot more PhDs and engineers in law school now compared to 15-20 years ago. So, while it is a strong soft skill for job, it is not a rare skill.

Current students, could you please tell me how many science PhD's are in your class? Do you know anyone with a science Phd who had difficulty finding a patent prosecution job? Does IPSecure even exist anymore, outside the top14 schools?

While I am very interested in being a IP attorney, I am anxious about attending law school after reading some of the posts here.

jim-green

Re: IPSecure?

Postby jim-green » Fri Jun 08, 2012 5:31 pm

What does IPSecure mean? I have been hearing this term a lot on TLS

Julio_El_Chavo

Postby Julio_El_Chavo » Fri Jun 08, 2012 8:38 pm

From my personal experience: I know several PhDs at T14s and they all have excellent jobs with market (160k) salaries. None of them, however, went into patent prosecution.

yuzu

Postby yuzu » Mon Jun 11, 2012 3:05 am

I can only think of one chemistry PhD in my section of ~80 students; there are a few people with other technical backgrounds as well. I'd say that's typical. The chemistry PhD was one of the relatively few 1Ls to get a summer associate position.

There will probably be other science PhDs at your school but you will still have a far better shot at a job than the average T1 law student.

jim-green wrote:What does IPSecure mean? I have been hearing this term a lot on TLS

It refers to the assertion that someone with a technical background looking for a job in patent law has secure employment prospects and doesn't need to worry about getting a job.

zinc