path to trial law Forum

A forum for applicants and admitted students to ask law students and graduates about law school and the practice of law.
utlaw2007

Silver

path to trial law

Post by utlaw2007 » Tue May 29, 2012 8:44 pm

I haven't seen this thread on here so I thought I'd start one. I'm a trial lawyer and I'd be glad to answer any questions on how to be effective and how to get on the path to becoming a trial lawyer. Not so much how to become more employable out of law school as a trial lawyer because that is pretty much impossible. But employable does not mean effective when it comes to trial law. I can steer you in the right direction for learning the basics. All I will say is that most trial lawyers at all levels, biglaw included, suck. Boutiques, I'm sure are much better. A lawyer can have an impeccable record in the courtroom and still suck because his competition just sucks even more. But if anyone is interested, ask away. I need to write a letter of notice and two petitions so I'm kinda procrastinating by answering these questions.

I own a small law firm so I can give some start up advice, as well.

fatduck

Gold

Re: path to trial law

Post by fatduck » Tue May 29, 2012 8:49 pm

awesome, a fellow trial lawyer

care to critique my latest ad?

fatduck

Gold

Post by fatduck » Tue May 29, 2012 8:51 pm

okay serious question

anything in particular you did during law school that you felt prepared you to open your own shop?

utlaw2007

Silver

Post by utlaw2007 » Tue May 29, 2012 8:54 pm

fatduck wrote:awesome, a fellow trial lawyer

care to critique my latest ad?

I personally wouldn't use the gorilla, but it is an aggressive form of advertising. And that is what is needed if you do personal injury.