IP with Computer Science + Mathematics Forum

A forum for applicants and admitted students to ask law students and graduates about law school and the practice of law.
Anonymous User

IP with Computer Science + Mathematics

Post by Anonymous User » Tue May 08, 2012 12:10 am

I was wondering, how hard would it be to get IP with Comp. Sci. + Mathematics if I attend Columbia Law School? UG GPA: 3.6x (top 10%). Work experience as an engineer with a major telecommunications company.

My degree isn't ABET-accredited (many comp. sci. programs aren't), which means I won't be able to sit for the patent bar directly. However, if I take one more physics class, I should be able to sit for the patent bar using one of the alternative options. If that doesn't pan out, would it be pointless for me to try IP without being able to sit for the patent bar? Also, if I decide not to pursue IP, would firms hold it against me if I tried to do something non-IP related?

Thanks in advance for your responses.

Anonymous User

Re: IP with Computer Science + Mathematics

Post by Anonymous User » Tue May 08, 2012 12:27 am

You should be fine for patent litigation.

I'd recommend that you take 1 physics course sometime later in your career so that you can get the patent bar credential. It may become very important in the future.

Diamond

Post by 09042014 » Tue May 08, 2012 12:35 am

Firms won't really hold it against you if you decide to not do IP. But they may be skeptical.

You can do patent litigation most likely.

But a lot of IP firms or IP practices want patent bar eligibility. I'd get the extra class before law school just to say you are eligible.

Agent

Bronze

Post by Agent » Tue May 08, 2012 12:48 am

Desert Fox wrote:Firms won't really hold it against you if you decide to not do IP. But they may be skeptical.

But a lot of IP firms or IP practices want patent bar eligibility. I'd get the extra class before law school just to say you are eligible.
+1

CyLaw

Gold