Employment and my family tree

A forum for applicants and admitted students to ask law students and graduates about law school and the practice of law.
Anonymous User

Employment and my family tree

Postby Anonymous User » Mon Apr 30, 2012 12:20 am

I don't mean for this post to come off as shallow, but I'm trying to gauge my potential for success before I commit to law school. I graduated from a well-respected liberal arts college with a good GPA, and I think I have a pretty good shot at a T14 school. I've been interested in law for a while, partly because my grandfather served on my state's supreme court. I'm more interested in corporate law than trial law, but my question is whether having him as my grandfather might serve as a conduit later on when I'm looking for internships and jobs. I don't expect anyone to hire me unless I'm really worth my salt, but one former boss told me having "the name" would be a big help. My grandfather was active in the legal field until recently, but he's old and might not even be around when I start law school. Everyone is saying law school is a terrible idea, and I hear horror stories about students graduating with 200k in debt and no jobs, so I want to know what my career options might be before I commit.

emkay625

Re: Employment and my family tree

Postby emkay625 » Mon Apr 30, 2012 12:22 am