Common Law and prep books Forum

A forum for applicants and admitted students to ask law students and graduates about law school and the practice of law.
Scotusnerd

Silver

Common Law and prep books

Post by Scotusnerd » Wed Apr 25, 2012 9:09 pm

I finally just decided to these questions ask on a forum where I can be a boob without having my identity revealed.

1) What exactly is common law? How is it applied? Is it constitutional, since the legality principal seems to make it unconstitutionally vague? Where can I go to find an overview of what common law is?

2) Also, the prep books, like E&E...they're not statutes, correct?

3) The Restatement of Torts is not a source that you can quote in front of a judge, right? I've noticed that my state laws are pretty...vague with regards to torts.

(P.S. I'm a 0L, and yes I'm studying way too early. But this is bothering me, and it's been bothering me for some time, and I doubt I'm going to get a good answer out of a professor any time in the near future.)

BlueDiamond

Silver

Re: Common Law and prep books

Post by BlueDiamond » Wed Apr 25, 2012 9:48 pm

wait til school starts for this.. go drink a beer..

Detrox

Bronze

Post by Detrox » Wed Apr 25, 2012 10:05 pm

BlueDiamond wrote:wait til school starts for this.. go drink a beer..
This. But since you probably won't follow that advice.

1. I don't even want to try to answer this one in any complete manner. The phrasing of your question makes it seem like you have some idea of what it is already. It's law resulting from the compilation of hundreds of years of judicial precedent. You'll learn how it is applied and why asking that question and expecting an answer that isn't a book is ridiculous. It is constitutional and is even incorporated in our Constitution and in later decisions interpreting constitutional provisions.