Not EE/CS. Any point in taking patent bar?

A forum for applicants and admitted students to ask law students and graduates about law school and the practice of law.
rinkrat19

Not EE/CS. Any point in taking patent bar?

Postby rinkrat19 » Fri Feb 17, 2012 1:41 pm

If you didn't major in one of the fields that are most desirable for IP hiring, and aren't sure you really want to do IP (at least not all the time/forever), is there any benefit to having passed the patent bar?

0L, heading to NU. (3.56/171/white female) I majored in environmental engineering and minored in chemistry. No grad degree. I'm fairly sure my courseload meets the patent bar requirements under Category B, option 4 (obviously I'd have an expert go over my transcript to check), and I know I qualify under Category C by having passed the FE while I was still in school.

Not having the right major, I don't expect to get hired by an IP firm or even the IP department at a regular firm, but I'm wondering if I'd get any hiring boost by A)being qualified to take the patent bar if they wanted me to in the future, or B)actually taking it, perhaps during a summer or something. I'd ask about taking it before LS, but looking at a past test, I don't think there's time to master the material.

hoos89

Re: Not EE/CS. Any point in taking patent bar?

Postby hoos89 » Fri Feb 17, 2012 1:57 pm

/
Last edited by hoos89 on Fri Jul 04, 2014 12:54 pm, edited 1 time in total.

rinkrat19

Postby rinkrat19 » Fri Feb 17, 2012 2:03 pm

hoos89 wrote:http://www.uspto.gov/ip/boards/oed/grb.pdf

Read section III. I don't think you would be allowed to sit the bar.

Keep reading all of Section III. There are 3 categories by which you can qualify:
Category A: by major. EnvE doesn't automatically qualify, you are right.
Category B: by coursework. Pretty sure I qualify under Option 4.