Hours/ Salary Tradeoff

A forum for applicants and admitted students to ask law students and graduates about law school and the practice of law.
Alex12

Hours/ Salary Tradeoff

Postby Alex12 » Tue Feb 14, 2012 7:42 pm

Hey guys,
I'm new to this whole law school forum, but if you can help me that would be great!
I'm wondering if their are jobs that are outside of biglaw, where you can make 90-100K but working closer to a 50 hour week/ minimal weekends? Or is that totally unreasonable? And if it is possible, what kinds of law would it be? I'm guessing stuff like real estate, divorce, patent maybe, but I really have no idea.
Any help would be really appreciated!
O and I haven't decided where I'm going yet, but I will be at a good but not very top school. (deciding between top 15 school/ more debt and top 50 school/ minimal debt)
Thanks!
Last edited by Alex12 on Tue Feb 14, 2012 7:44 pm, edited 1 time in total.

johndhi

Re: Hours/ Salary Tradeoff

Postby johndhi » Tue Feb 14, 2012 7:43 pm

From what I've seen, patent prosecution might fall into that category if you can find a firm with the right mindset. From what I've heard, Knobbe Martens is one such firm.

Aberzombie1892

Postby Aberzombie1892 » Tue Feb 14, 2012 7:51 pm

No.

Real jobs in services industries, such as law and consulting (audit, management, risk, etc.), are almost entirely client need based. You cannot control when your client needs either to get something completed or to respond to a third party (regulatory agencies/IRS/opposing parties). That's part of the reason that you get paid more than entry service jobs - you are getting paid for (1) producing quality work (not being wrong/doing a very good job), (2) being reliable in terms of meeting deadlines (set either by the client or by a third party), (3) having good enough communication skills to meet (1) and (2).

If you don't work a lot of hours, teach at a community college (no publishing/service required).

Anonymous User