Ave Law School Forum

A forum for applicants and admitted students to ask law students and graduates about law school and the practice of law.
garthwayne

New

Ave Law School

Post by garthwayne » Tue Nov 01, 2011 6:22 pm

I am a student.

1. I have a job lined up through a family connection.

2. I was given a full ride.

3. I am aware of the the reputation of the school.

Here are a few thoughts about the school:

Cons: Quiet a few things could use improvement. The facilities are terrible for a law school setting. The library closes way to early. The bottom 20% of the class has no business being here. The poor bar passage rate needs to be improved greatly. The beating we've taken since the move from Michigan.

Pros: The administration is quick to release professors who are not top notch. A tuition freeze that is going on 2 years, (for those who pay it). Given that the last "Michigan class" (students who spent a year in Ann Arbor) graduated in 2010, the next graduating class will have been educated entirely in Florida. This should help tremendously with bar passage rates.

Facts: There are three types of students who might want to attend here. 1. Religious (something like 44% are not Catholic). 2. Conservative. Though with more commuter students attending there seems to be an influx of liberalism on campus. This heats up debates rather nicely! 3. Those who wish to work and live in southern florida.

If anyone has any questions I'll do my best to field them.

blackman1

New

Re: Ave Law School

Post by blackman1 » Thu Nov 10, 2011 7:27 pm

How is the weather? Is it really warm like every day? Is the grade curve difficult? how is the attrition rate?

rlleib

New

Post by rlleib » Wed Nov 16, 2011 12:49 pm

When you say the facilities are terrible, what (besides the library not being open enough) are you referring to: buildings decaying?...not enough room?...classrooms overcrowded?...no wireless internet?

Please give some specifics. Thanks!

JoeMo

Gold