Is it worthwhile to do an LLM post JD if not practicing Forum

A forum for applicants and admitted students to ask law students and graduates about law school and the practice of law.
DCC

New

Is it worthwhile to do an LLM post JD if not practicing

Post by DCC » Wed Aug 24, 2011 11:08 am

Had to shorten the subject line.

Essentially I have an MBA and just finished a JD in PA but came to Dallas for SMU.
I do not have any intention to practice but figured a corporate law LLM at SMU might be helpful in making connections.
The problem is that I am finding the courses to be all case oriented. VERY little practical knowledge. That essentially makes it like my 1L year all over again and I'm pretty burnt out after just graduating and taking the bar.

I now must decide if it's an advantage to have an SMU LLM if I'm going to be practicing in the financial word (at least that's the aim, it's all about finding a job)

I did just meet after typing this, a 3L who agreed that near all of the courses are casebook, cases, dates etc and not a lot of practical application or teaching the rules. Rather most are trying to think a learning process similar (like I stated above) to 1L.

Any thoughts on this? Thanks

TommyK

Silver

Re: Is it worthwhile to do an LLM post JD if not practicing

Post by TommyK » Wed Aug 24, 2011 11:16 am

IBLLMflowchart.jpg

MrAnon

Gold

Post by MrAnon » Fri Sep 02, 2011 2:00 pm

wow don't do this. The only people in the program are JDs who couldn't get jobs. You want to make connections with them? Go right ahead.

CanadianWolf

Diamond

Post by CanadianWolf » Fri Sep 02, 2011 2:21 pm

The above poster wrote that all SMU LLM students are unemployed JDs---is this accurate ?