A forum for applicants and admitted students to ask law students and graduates about law school and the practice of law.
drjay

Postby drjay » Wed Jul 20, 2011 3:24 pm

Last edited by drjay on Tue Nov 08, 2011 11:01 am, edited 1 time in total.

Re: post-UNC/Duke IP market for JD/PhDs

Postby 09042014 » Wed Jul 20, 2011 3:46 pm

drjay wrote:I was curious if any of the past or present UNC/Duke students (or anyone who cares to chime in) could comment on potential differences in job marketability between UNC and Duke for non-traditional prospectives. I have a PhD in microbiology and the only 2 schools I can apply for in 2012 are UNC and Duke. I have been told that for science/engineering PhDs, it really doesn't matter in the IP job market which top ranked program you attend so long as it is a top tier school (my understanding is that the differences in ranked names bear much less weight in this scenario...less apples and oranges and more like a comparison of 2 types of apples). If this be the case, I would obviously prefer the drastically less expensive school.

Is there any truth to this, or does amassing the debt load at Duke still provide significant advantages over UNC for PhD scientists entering the IP field? Any thoughts or insight would be appreciated.

The whole "for IP it doesn't matter where you go" shtick is bullshit. Go look on the Loyola Patent Fair thread. Kids from T14 pwnd kids from schools in the T1.

But scholarships and cost should definitely be taken into account. Try your hardest on teh LSAT. Apply, and come back with offers and scholarships.

drjay

Postby drjay » Wed Jul 20, 2011 5:50 pm

Last edited by drjay on Tue Nov 08, 2011 11:01 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby 09042014 » Wed Jul 20, 2011 5:53 pm