Full-time job offers and future part-time law school

A forum for applicants and admitted students to ask law students and graduates about law school and the practice of law.
mclean

Full-time job offers and future part-time law school

Postby mclean » Wed Sep 22, 2010 1:56 am

Hi I am pretty new to this but in desperate need of some good advice. I recently received two job offers, one with a big firm, hours 8:30-5pm and good benefits, but inflexible work hours. The second is with a very small firm of two attorneys, but the hours are very flexible (e.g. 7am-3pm) and I was told that I would not need to put in any overtime. The pay for both is the same. I had hopes to attend law school part-time starting next year (LSAT in October). I am unsure right now if it would be better to take the job with the flexible hours and no overtime, or the big firm and possible job growth and reputation, possible overtime, etc..in regards to my future with law school. Any advice I could get on this would be wonderful and well appreciated!

bk1

Re: Full-time job offers and future part-time law school

Postby bk1 » Wed Sep 22, 2010 2:22 am

Personally I wouldn't pigeonhole myself into only PT programs as few schools with good prospects have them, but to each their own.

If you do this, I would think flexible hours would be a boon come exam time. Why does job growth matter if you're going to quit that job fairly soon anyways?

Alyssa

Postby Alyssa » Wed Sep 22, 2010 2:34 am