Too many student loans and out of cash Forum

(Seek and share information about clerkship applications, clerkship hiring timelines, and post-clerkship employment opportunities)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are sharing sensitive information about clerkship applications and clerkship hiring. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned."
Anonymous User

Too many student loans and out of cash

Post by Anonymous User » Tue Sep 18, 2018 3:26 pm

I have ~250-300k debt and am paying around $2500-3000 a month in loans. I'm in my second year clerking, and although my spouse works (we also have a kid), my bank account is now in the low triple digits.

Can I go into forebearance?
Thoughts on refinancing?
Any advice?

Pneumonia

Gold

Re: Too many student loans and out of cash

Post by Pneumonia » Tue Sep 18, 2018 3:31 pm

You can ask for forbearance. And it sounds like you should. Too few students take advantage of forbearance, especially while clerking.

albanach

Gold

Post by albanach » Tue Sep 18, 2018 3:38 pm

Anonymous User wrote:I have ~250-300k debt and am paying around $2500-3000 a month in loans. I'm in my second year clerking, and although my spouse works (we also have a kid), my bank account is now in the low triple digits.

Can I go into forebearance?
Thoughts on refinancing?
Any advice?
Why are you not on income based repayments? Surely your clerking years count towards PSLF? What if you leave there and go into gov't?

Anonymous User

Post by Anonymous User » Tue Sep 18, 2018 6:14 pm

I'm going to biglaw after. Should I forebear the minimal I can to keep afloat or forebear a more significant chunk and pay it back when I have the big law salary?

Pneumonia

Gold