chances at a district court clerkship? Forum

(Seek and share information about clerkship applications, clerkship hiring timelines, and post-clerkship employment opportunities)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are sharing sensitive information about clerkship applications and clerkship hiring. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned."
Anonymous User

chances at a district court clerkship?

Post by Anonymous User » Wed Apr 11, 2018 10:52 pm

hi guys,

I'm a T6 graduate, graduated in 2016. I did well my first year and a half, had about a 3.6, but then my grades tanked. I graduated with just over a 3.3.

I applied to district court clerkships a few months ago/am still applying on an ongoing basis for this year and next year.

I haven't received any interviews and my question is whether that's likely for 2018 or even 2019 anymore. I've applied to about a hundred judges on OSCAR.

my application has everything--journal, moot court, work experience. great letters. I even did a clerkship already--an appellate clerkship, albeit abroad last year. my whole resume is litigation as well. the only thing is my grades aren't so hot in my last year and a half, in large part because I got a B in a year long clinic (not sure if judges distinguish between classes and clinic).

I'm told there are hundreds of positions out there but they require paper apps/they aren't listed on OSCAR. I'm wiling to apply to all of those/am in the process of preparing paper apps now.