Next Best Option to a Clerkship? Forum

(Seek and share information about clerkship applications, clerkship hiring timelines, and post-clerkship employment opportunities)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are sharing sensitive information about clerkship applications and clerkship hiring. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned."
Donnis

New

Next Best Option to a Clerkship?

Post by Donnis » Tue Jan 23, 2018 11:09 am

Currently taking 1.5 years off of law school due to medical reasons and starting again Fall 2018 for 1 year to finish up my degree. I have 3 years of experience at a firm and have clerked at other law firms throughout law school. Compared to the average law school student, I have a tremendous amount of work experience.

Since I have over half a year before I begin, I was wondering what would be the next best thing to a clerkship considering I have not graduated yet and ineligible. I would like to focus solely on research and writing.

The firm I am with now rarely has any research or writing opportunities. Are there any other options out there for someone in my position? Or am I just stuck with a paralegal job and no job opportunities exist to research and write?

flashdril

New

Re: Next Best Option to a Clerkship?

Post by flashdril » Tue Jan 23, 2018 1:01 pm

One thing you could try to do - this isn't a substitute for a job, but would be a good use of your time, I think - would be to write a LR note or article and submit it for publication somewhere. I'd think that would look good and signal that you take writing and research seriously. Reach out to former/future professors for advice and feedback, etc.

objctnyrhnr

Post by objctnyrhnr » Tue Jan 23, 2018 1:29 pm