Clerking with work expeirence Forum

(Seek and share information about clerkship applications, clerkship hiring timelines, and post-clerkship employment opportunities)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are sharing sensitive information about clerkship applications and clerkship hiring. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned."
robin22

New

Clerking with work expeirence

Post by robin22 » Fri Aug 18, 2017 9:24 pm

I'm interested in clerking and I've been working in big law for two years. Are there judges that prefer work experience?

rpupkin

Platinum

Re: Clerking with work expeirence

Post by rpupkin » Fri Aug 18, 2017 9:32 pm

robin22 wrote:I'm interested in clerking and I've been working in big law for two years. Are there judges that prefer work experience?
Yes.

Lincoln

Silver

Post by Lincoln » Fri Aug 18, 2017 9:36 pm

Many if not most district judges in big districts like SDNY prefer clerks to have work experience before they start. The problem from your position is that many of those judges hire 2-3 years out. So yes, your work experience isn't an obstacle to clerking per se, but are you looking to clerk as a 5th year?

robin22

New

Post by robin22 » Fri Aug 18, 2017 9:46 pm

Lincoln wrote:Many if not most district judges in big districts like SDNY prefer clerks to have work experience before they start. The problem from your position is that many of those judges hire 2-3 years out. So yes, your work experience isn't an obstacle to clerking per se, but are you looking to clerk as a 5th year?