How long does it take to hear back after an OSCAR application?

Seek and share information about clerkship applications, clerkship hiring timelines, and post-clerkship employment opportunities.
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are sharing sensitive information about clerkship applications and clerkship hiring. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned."
2TimesTheCharm

New

How long does it take to hear back after an OSCAR application?

Postby 2TimesTheCharm » Wed Aug 03, 2016 8:51 am

How long does it usually take to hear back from an OSCAR application, assuming the judge is interested? This is my first time applying for clerkships, so I'm hoping to get a better understanding of the system.

Also, I understand it's late in the process, but I was told it would help my career substantially. I'm a junior biglaw associate applying for a District Court clerkship. I will go anywhere, even Alaska, as long as it's for a year. Any advice/ reality checks would be appreciated. Thanks!

Anonymous User

Re: How long does it take to hear back after an OSCAR application?

Postby Anonymous User » Wed Aug 03, 2016 1:06 pm

For the DCT I eventually landed I applied Tuesday afternoon and got invited for an interview Wednesday morning.

wwwcol

Bronze

Postby wwwcol » Wed Aug 03, 2016 1:18 pm

It depends on the judge. Some respond in days, others in months, and some never respond.

Anonymous User

Postby Anonymous User » Wed Aug 03, 2016 1:19 pm

Hi OP, don't assume the response above is representative. Current COA clerk here, applied to probably 40 or 50 judges (COA & D. Ct.), received 6 interviews and the response times were all over the map. Min: 2 days after; Max: 1 year after.