3.86 GPA/Top 1% at a Tier 3 School-->Federal Clerkship?

(Seek and share information about clerkship applications, clerkship hiring timelines, and post-clerkship employment opportunities)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are sharing sensitive information about clerkship applications and clerkship hiring. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned."
Manali

Bronze

3.86 GPA/Top 1% at a Tier 3 School-->Federal Clerkship?

Postby Manali » Tue Jan 12, 2016 1:13 am

I am a transfer student at a Tier 3 school and I just received fall semester grades, which put me at a 3.86/Top 1%. Are federal clerkships a possibility despite my "modest" school? Should I be applying for them now? This has come as a HUGE surprise, very unexpected. Any assistance would be greatly appreciated.

cheaptilts

Bronze

Re: 3.86 GPA/Top 1% at a Tier 3 School-->Federal Clerkship?

Postby cheaptilts » Tue Jan 12, 2016 1:47 am

probably not assuming you transferred from a T4. Your best bet would be hitting up the DEAN of your law school + professors you had last semester + searching the web to see if any of the alumni are now federal judges

cheaptilts

Bronze

Postby cheaptilts » Tue Jan 12, 2016 1:47 am

basically hit up any faculty member who clerked or has a connection to a federal judge. this includes the dean. Then, hit up any alum who may be currently clerking right now from your t3

jimmythecatdied6

Bronze

Postby jimmythecatdied6 » Tue Jan 12, 2016 10:15 am

Are you URM?

Manali

Bronze

Postby Manali » Tue Jan 12, 2016 10:38 am

jimmythecatdied6 wrote:Are you URM?

No, ORM (Asian).

xael

Platinum

Postby xael » Tue Jan 12, 2016 12:06 pm

I know I sure believe it

Manali

Bronze

Postby Manali » Tue Jan 12, 2016 1:10 pm