best LORs for clerkships ?

Seek and share information about clerkship applications, clerkship hiring timelines, and post-clerkship employment opportunities.
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are sharing sensitive information about clerkship applications and clerkship hiring. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned."
Anonymous User

best LORs for clerkships ?

Postby Anonymous User » Fri Jan 23, 2015 12:51 pm

I'm turning to TLS because my career services office is swamped with appointments and I need to compile these sooner rather than later.

I'm a native NJ student and want to clerk there. In terms of LORs, I worked for a few attorneys in NJ and I'm wondering if in addition to professors an LOR from these attorneys would be an advantage to my application for those judges they know/have ties with/etc. Or do judges prefer letters from professors only? Or does it depend on the judge?

BVest

Re: best LORs for clerkships ?

Postby BVest » Fri Jan 23, 2015 1:29 pm

Anonymous User wrote:I'm turning to TLS because my career services office is swamped with appointments and I need to compile these sooner rather than later.

I'm a native NJ student and want to clerk there. In terms of LORs, I worked for a few attorneys in NJ and I'm wondering if in addition to professors an LOR from these attorneys would be an advantage to my application for those judges they know/have ties with/etc. Or do judges prefer letters from professors only? Or does it depend on the judge?