"Admin" Law Clerk vs. Regular Term Law Clerk Position?

Seek and share information about clerkship applications, clerkship hiring timelines, and post-clerkship employment opportunities.
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are sharing sensitive information about clerkship applications and clerkship hiring. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned."
addictedtoblue

"Admin" Law Clerk vs. Regular Term Law Clerk Position?

Postby addictedtoblue » Wed Dec 17, 2014 11:17 am

Hi everyone,

I am a mid-level attorney who recently received an offer to clerk for a federal district judge for one year.

The judge is giving me the choice between two positions - one is a regular law clerk position, and another is a hybrid term/administrative position. (The latter may have a more proper term, but I don't know what it is). As a matter of context, the judge had a long term Judicial Assistant, who left, and rather than filling that position he decided to create this hybrid position a few years ago.

This is all relatively new to me, and I'm wondering if you folks could let me know what the relative pros/cons are of each position. Especially interested to hear from former law clerks who had an "admin" law clerk position and what they thought about it. Also curious to hear what kind of questions I should ask before making a final decision.

Many thanks,
- Blue

seizmaar

Re: "Admin" Law Clerk vs. Regular Term Law Clerk Position?

Postby seizmaar » Wed Dec 17, 2014 11:24 am

i dunno man it just sounds like you'll be the judicial assistant with a bit of law clerk on the side. i'd do the normal gig.

Anonymous User

Postby Anonymous User » Wed Dec 17, 2014 11:39 am