Is it too late to get a 2016 CoA Clerkship?

Seek and share information about clerkship applications, clerkship hiring timelines, and post-clerkship employment opportunities.
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are sharing sensitive information about clerkship applications and clerkship hiring. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned."
Anonymous User

Is it too late to get a 2016 CoA Clerkship?

Postby Anonymous User » Wed Nov 26, 2014 8:21 pm

I'm in a bit of a unique position. I am a 2L who only has one semester of grades (I'm a 2-year JD student at NU), and I was thinking of pursuing a clerkship when I graduate in 2016. I will be externing for a district court judge this spring, and I was hoping to wait until I can get a recommendation from someone in those chambers.

Do I have it right that it is already too late to get a 2016 CoA clerkship? Should I apply for 2016 district clerkships and start applying for 2018 CoA clerkships?

Many thanks.

Anonymous User

Re: Is it too late to get a 2016 CoA Clerkship?

Postby Anonymous User » Wed Nov 26, 2014 9:00 pm

It's not that it's too late; it's that I sincerely doubt any judge will hire someone with one semester of grades/one semester of law school under their belt. Even a district court clerkship for 2016 will be super difficult to obtain. You are best served doing well in your classes, doing LR if AJD students are allowed to, and applying for 2017 clerkships.

Anonymous User

Postby Anonymous User » Wed Nov 26, 2014 9:06 pm

Thanks for weighing in.