Flyover Clerkship as Alum

Seek and share information about clerkship applications, clerkship hiring timelines, and post-clerkship employment opportunities.
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are sharing sensitive information about clerkship applications and clerkship hiring. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned."
Anonymous User

Flyover Clerkship as Alum

Postby Anonymous User » Sun Feb 02, 2014 9:52 am

I'm a 2013 grad with a solid resume (HLS, probably competitive even if I applied without w/e but who knows), but I fear the clerkship game is such that I'll be shut out of popular markets. Will post-clerkship employers think its odd if I leave in 2015 do a D.Maine clerkship, for example, or is it accepted that it's still worth it? I mostly just want out of biglaw, but don't want it to be obvious that I hated my job so much that I was willing to move to BFE to escape. Oh, and I'd be hoping to move to SF or LA once I finished (NYC now).

ClerkAdvisor

Re: Flyover Clerkship as Alum

Postby ClerkAdvisor » Sun Feb 02, 2014 12:38 pm

Anonymous User wrote:I'm a 2013 grad with a solid resume (HLS, probably competitive even if I applied without w/e but who knows), but I fear the clerkship game is such that I'll be shut out of popular markets. Will post-clerkship employers think its odd if I leave in 2015 do a D.Maine clerkship, for example, or is it accepted that it's still worth it? I mostly just want out of biglaw, but don't want it to be obvious that I hated my job so much that I was willing to move to BFE to escape. Oh, and I'd be hoping to move to SF or LA once I finished (NYC now).