Dist Ct to COA - Possible and Worth It?

Seek and share information about clerkship applications, clerkship hiring timelines, and post-clerkship employment opportunities.
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are sharing sensitive information about clerkship applications and clerkship hiring. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned."
Anonymous User

Dist Ct to COA - Possible and Worth It?

Postby Anonymous User » Wed Jan 29, 2014 7:55 am

I've been thinking this over, and can't make up my mind, so I thought I'd throw it out there to you all and see what you think.

I'm in my first year of a two-year district court clerkship. I haven't, as of yet, applied to any COAs. That said, I've certainly considered it and I think it would be a really interesting experience. I thought I'd have more time to think about it (except for the most competitive judges/feeders, which I was probably out of the running for anyway), but now that the plan is no more, I suspect I'm already behind.

So two questions:
1) Am I competitive for COA term 2015-2016?
2) Would doing a COA clerkship be valuable enough (in terms of experience and job opportunities) to start immediately collecting all of my application materials from two years ago? And will that value be outweighed by having been clerking for a third year?

Stats:
School - T20
Rank - ~5%
Honors - high honors/magna, Order of the Coif
Activities - Law Review (Articles Editor), Moot Court, teaching fellow in LRW
Published in school's LR
Current district court clerk

Tangerine Gleam

Re: Dist Ct to COA - Possible and Worth It?

Postby Tangerine Gleam » Wed Jan 29, 2014 11:04 am