As an alumni applicant, do I put my school in cover letter?

Seek and share information about clerkship applications, clerkship hiring timelines, and post-clerkship employment opportunities.
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are sharing sensitive information about clerkship applications and clerkship hiring. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned."
Anonymous User

As an alumni applicant, do I put my school in cover letter?

Postby Anonymous User » Tue Sep 10, 2013 6:18 pm

I graduated from a second tier law school in 2010, clerked for a top district court, went to biglaw, and now I'm applying to some other jobs and COA clerkships. As a third year (going on fourth year) it seems like my law school isn't that relevant and it's probably the most harmful thing on my resume. When I write my cover letter, I used to include in the first sentence "I'm a grad of XXXX law school." I was thinking, should I waste valuable space with that sentence? It's already in my resume which I also send. It seems like there's no reason to say it twice, since it certainly doesn't help me.

I was thinking about starting with: I'm a current associate at [BIGLAW FIRM] and former clerk for [JUDGE] on [DISTRICT].

lolwat

Re: As an alumni applicant, do I put my school in cover letter?

Postby lolwat » Tue Sep 10, 2013 6:27 pm

Sounds fine to me. I don't think school is going to be irrelevant, but you certainly don't have to highlight it in your cover letter.

Anonymous User

Postby Anonymous User » Tue Sep 10, 2013 6:37 pm

lolwat wrote:Sounds fine to me. I don't think school is going to be irrelevant, but you certainly don't have to highlight it in your cover letter.