Clerkship Chances? Forum

(Seek and share information about clerkship applications, clerkship hiring timelines, and post-clerkship employment opportunities)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are sharing sensitive information about clerkship applications and clerkship hiring. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned."
Anonymous User

Clerkship Chances?

Post by Anonymous User » Thu Aug 08, 2013 3:57 pm

I just recently applied to a federal clerkship in my home market (it is not with a highly sought after judge, some may say it is a "flyover district"). In my view he is a very balanced, bright, fair and respected judge. The judge normally hires 2 clerks and each are normally from a law school in my home state. I graduated from a law school in my home state (the highest ranked school).

I just graduated and I will have worked for a year in my local market before the clerkship would begin. I graduated from a T25-35 in about the top 15-25% of the class. My 2l and 3l were drastically better than my 1l year. If my GPA were calculated purely off my 2L and 3L year I would have graduated in the top 2-3%. The classes I took during my 2L and 3L years were not fluff classes or easy classes. I aced a few that are generally considered quite difficult. They were classes which everybody typically takes. In many instances the classes were with professors known to be difficult graders. I was also on a secondary journal, but I was not published and I did not hold a board position. I have very strong recommenations and references, many of whom have strong personal and professional connections with the judge.