interview timing...time-sensitive question

Seek and share information about clerkship applications, clerkship hiring timelines, and post-clerkship employment opportunities.
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are sharing sensitive information about clerkship applications and clerkship hiring. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned."
objctnyrhnr

interview timing...time-sensitive question

Postby objctnyrhnr » Tue Jul 16, 2013 1:01 pm

I received an interview from a SSC judge and thus far, it has been my only interview. 2 dates of the same week were offered. I stated that I was available for one, and that I had a jury trial for the other (I am a student prosecutor, this summer). His clerk then said that the day for which I said I was available was full, and asked about the possibility of 3 other dates that week, one of which I had a jury trial for and I stated this. The clerk then said that the two dates I gave did not work. He said that they would be scheduling more slots in late August, and that he would contact me.

Here is my question: by not giving my jury trial to somebody else, do I decrease my risk at getting a clerkship? Jury trials are very valuable for interns who aspire to be prosecutors, but it would probably be worth it for me to give one up if I think that my chances will decrease in late August. I have not had a jury trial yet and want very badly to have one before the end of the summer. I have a few others scheduled, but it takes a perfect storm to make a JT happen. I would put both of these at a bit more likely to happen than not. What do you guys think?

lolwat

Re: interview timing...time-sensitive question

Postby lolwat » Tue Jul 16, 2013 1:15 pm